Validation on aggregated child records

I have a parent record with Master-Detail child records that have a percentage field. In my Skuid editor, I have the parent record up top and a table with the child records below it. I’m need to create a rule where the child record(s) must exist and always sum to 100% when a Boolean field in the parent record is checked. I’ve been trying to do this with SF validation rules, but I’m getting nowhere. Is there some way I can do this on the client side with Skuid, or am I missing something on the validation rules side?

The SF parent validation rule I tried looks something like this if it helps:

IF( AND(
NOT(ISNEW())
, Require100percent__c = TRUE
, SumOComponents__c <> 1.0
)
, TRUE, FALSE)

Thanks for the help. Skuid is looking awesome still.

This problem does sound best handedl with field validation on the salesforce side.  So you are on the right track.  But you might also explore some client side validation that Zach suggested a few weeks ago.  The scenario is a little different, but I think you could use concepts to work toward your solution.  Here is the link:   https://community.skuid.com/t/magic-real-time-error-warning-rendering-using-javascript…

(You will have to ignore my snide product development comment)

Thanks for the direction.  Still working through this, but there is no rush.  Looks like when I add delete detail items, those aren’t processed in the same transaction, so standard SF validation doesn’t work in my case (ie, deletes, updates, and inserts are processed separately).  For instance, if I had 2 records with a 50/50 split and deleted one and changed one to 100%, validation would fail the transaction, whereas if i changed it to 80/20, it would work.  Makes sense to me at least… I’m new to SF though.

Long story short, it looks like client side is the way to go.  Need to learn some more Skuid API and javascript to make this happen I’m thinking.