Using UserRecordAccess

I am just getting started with SKUID, and am mostly involved in helping the project SKUID team with SFDC security model issues. The team wanted to conditionally render a button and based on their description of what they wanted I recommended something like the SOQL below:

SELECT RecordId, HasReadAccess, HasTransferAccess, MaxAccessLevel
FROM UserRecordAccess     
WHERE UserId = ‘005J0000002Wc99’ AND RecordId = ‘001J000001VLJe2IAH’

The team tried the above SOQL and said that it didn’t work because “in Skuid by default the “Id” field is getting populated in the select query and because of that we are getting error.” 

I take this to mean that SKUID is automagically adding the ID field to the query. This is a problem since there is not an ID field in the UserRecordAccess object.

Does this description make sense? And if it does is there a workaround?

Thanks!

Very interesting! UserRecordAccess is unique in that it’s the only object I’ve ever encountered that will not work if any other fields other than “RecordId, a Has*Access field, and MaxAccessLevel” is included in the SOQL.

Skuid has made the Id field a default field in their Model architecture. I wouldn’t of thought of  that ever being an issue, but I stand corrected.

What’s more interesting is that the option is there to “not” select the Id field for the model. Quite misleading to me, but I can understand how the decision was made to always include by default. I don’t think anyone’s ever tried to use this object on a Skuid page, and adding the Id field by default makes Models that much more quick to use and less prone to issues.

I suppose it’s appropriate to ask for a tweak to the Models: auto select the Id field but let the user unselect it.

Another odd thing.

The field with the label of “Record ID” doesn’t have the API name of “Id”. Every other place I’ve seen a field with the label “Record ID” it did have “ID” for it’s API name.