Questions about Skuid Platform vs Skuid on Salesforce and request for help

Hello:  after 4 very long and expensive years in a Salesforce contract, I am exploring other options.  Skuid on Salesforce literally saved our business as mortgage and financial Fund applications are too hard to do with normal Salesforce.  However, I am so very tired of how long it takes to load skuid on Salesforce (especially complex pages) and I noticed that it is way faster on Skuid Platform.  Not being a real actual developer with today’s technologies and no knowledge of today’s databases (I was a programmer on mainframes for many years a long time ago), I am wondering the following:
1) Could I keep Salesforce with just a few regular licenses and access everything else on Salesforce from the Skuid Platform until I had time to build out our databases somewhere else? And would the pages load as slowly, or is it faster?
2) If I were to choose some type of database somewhere, what would be the most recommended for the 100 or so custom objects that we have?