Writing Formulas with Rich Text Areas

This is the error I get. It won’t even let me save the formula.

Error: You referenced an unsupported field type called “Rich Text Area” using the following field: Enrollment_Explantion__c

Certainly can work around this using javascript to set boolean UI only fields.

Can you help me with this please? As you can tell, I’m not too experienced with writing formulas, let alone javascript.

Sure. I’ll whip something together this evening.

Thanks sir

This is not strictly a skuid problem, if you are building this formula in Salesforce, as it appears. Skuid, however, may help you with a UI-Only field. The formulas there will support not only LEN() but also ISBLANK().

You won’t be able to use an is-blank Condition on the the field in your model, however.

I’m writing this in Salesforce by the way.

Is there any way to accomplish the same thing using different code? I am building this formula in Salesforce.

Yes, but you’d have to save the record first

I can delete the lines not working and save it. Then what?

An apex trigger was a suggestion I found elsewhere. There’s an assumption that apex functions can test for null text fields (on insert and update).

Any idea what it would look like?

The trigger? Maybe something like this:

trigger yourTriggerName on YourObjectAPI_Name (before insert, before update) {

List <YourObjectAPI_Name> triggerSet = Trigger.new;
for ( YourObjectAPI_Name theRow : triggerSet )
{
    Integer n = 0;

if ( String.isEmpty(theRow.Salesforce_Enrollments__c) ) { n++; }
    if ( String.isEmpty(theRow.Total_Referrals__c) ) { n++; }
    if ( String.isEmpty(theRow.Retention_Explanation__c) ) { n++; }

//if ( n > 0 )
    //{
        theRow.YourNumericField__c = n/7; //assuming 7 fields to test
    //}
}

}

(The field you add to the object (Your Numeric Field) is a Number datatype, not a Formula.)