Retain data between steps in wizard if going back a step

Hello all -

Having an issue with one of our pages right now. We have a thing called “New Issues and New Ideas”, where employees can offer ideas to help make things more efficient around the company, or to let us know when there is a problem. We have a wizard set up to make creating new issues and ideas very easy, but we’ve hit a little snag - going from step 1 to step 2 is no problem, but when the user wants to change something from step 1 and they go back to the previous step, they might lose anything they had already written during step 2 - plus, the finish button will not enable anymore. I wasn’t the one that put this page together initially, and I’m still pretty new to Skuid, but I think this could easily be solved using the right actions - I’m just not sure which actions to use.

Is there a way to retain information typed in by the user between steps if it isn’t saved?

Hi Lucas. There are quite a few possible approaches to building a page like yours, so to answer your question we’d need some details about the way your page is built. Are you able to look in the page builder and describe in more detail (or capture some screenshots) what the wizard’s buttons have set up for their actions? For example, which actions happen when a user clicks the Previous Step button to backtrack from step 2 to step 1?

Do your users consistently lose step 2’s data when navigating back to step 1? The finish button probably has some enable conditions set up on it that aren’t being met after the user backtracks. It could be set to only enable when all of the required model fields have been filled in.