custom title action button to save and close window

I have created a simple Skuid page that is launched from a standard button on the Case feed page. The page is supposed to be used as a pop up for editing a subset of case fields and posting a Chatter comment. I would like to create a custom save button on the page that saves all the changes (including the Chatter comment), closes the window, and refreshes the originating case feed page so the data changes will be reflected. Since I am new to Skuid and am not a developer, I am a little lost with regards to the custom button snippets. Where can I find help on how to achieve this?

Tamar,

I think you should be able to accomplish this with the action framework… only a tiny bit of javascript to accomplish the requery.

The standard button on the case feed page should launch a popup. In that popup, use the page include component to pull in your page.

On that custom popup page, use a pagetitle component and add a button to run multiple actions:

• save model(s) action
  • run custom javascript action
  • close topmost popup action
for your javascript, create a snippet with this single line:

skuid.$M('ParentPageModelName').updateData();

As an aside, if you rebuild your custom popup page within the popup on the parent page, instead of using a page include component, you could replace the javascript with a simple Query Model action in the action framework.

Hi Matt, thank you for your reply. Currently I am using a field editor component on my page as demonstrated in the tutorials. I will try to read up on the action framework and the page include component and see how I can use them to follow your suggestion. My originating page is a standard SF case feed page and not a Skuid page. I am launching the Skuid “pop up” page using a URL button. I am not sure what you mean by “rebuild your custom popup within the popup on the parent page”. Please excuse my ignorance, this is my very first Skuid page. .

Tamar,