Skuid Vs. Salesforce

Hi All,
I’m completely new to Skuid.  I found it by investigating salesforce connect. It’s not yet clear to me if Skuid is a competitor to Salesforce Connect, and should I be considering using Skuid instead of Salesforce Connect for exposing external data in my salesforce org, or is better to use along with salesforce connect. I have similar questions for Salesforce Communities, and Salesforce workflow engines (process builder, visual workflow)…all are things that it appears Skuid does, and after poking around in the Skuid docs a bit, I don’t see any clear answers. 

So, I’m hoping someone out there with experience with Skuid would take a moment to break down some of the similarities, differences, pros, cons etc of Skuid vs. Salesforce.

For example, can formula fields be written on external data sets with Skuid? This is currently limitation of Salesforce Connect that comes to mind. 

Another question that comes to mind is how are the external data sets stored (for lack of a better term)…with salesforce connect an external object is defined…is the same done with Skuid?

I have just started a free trial and hope to play around and figure some of this stuff out for myself, but any answers in the meantime would be appreciated.

Thanks!!