Combo Filtering Using the Chart Legend!

Hello guys and gals!

I’m Shmuel and I’m a new Skuider.

I’ve been learning skuid for about 1 or 2 months now and it is a life changer.
It’s one of those tools that is so easy to use, it becomes a gateway for learning more complex things (kind of like Salesforce itself…).
I become more and more impressed each day. It’s like Skuid has thought of everything possible (not saying there’s not room for growth though).

But it’s not only the tool itself that’s great, the Skuid community is chock full of information and contributions.

Here’s a small contribution to give back! It’s one of those ‘use at your own risk’ kind of things given that I’m completely new to javascript and web development (my experience is mainly in Apex). So, forgive the bad practices when you find them! And also let me know about them :).

The idea behind this snippet came from a user. When presented with a pie chart, he wanted to be able to select multiple parts of the pie and see the data below.
So I put a before render snippet and using the Highcharts API, utilized the onclick event for legendItems.
Now, you can select any combination of a set of points in a series, and the snippet will query another model using the points selected.
My use case was to allow for the user to choose a combination of stages, compare the aggregate data and display data about those stages below.

I didn’t specify in the comments, but I found a few functions unavailable from highcharts which is why you may see some code that looks like it could have been done with a highchart provided method (or I just missed it).

You can put this sample page in a developer org (it will look better if there’s some data in it).

Thanks to Rob Hatch who’s post here led me to the world of HighCharts :slight_smile: https://community.skuid.com/t/show-percentage-lables-in-charts

Enjoy!

<skuidpage unsavedchangeswarning="yes" personalizationmode="server" showsidebar="true" showheader="true">